Sun 3°C

THE VILLAGE

The three terracings

The medieval settlement of Tremona-Castello was built on three terracings. The earliest road leading out of the settlement led to Meride; from the entrance gate on the north west side it joined the village lower down. The state of preservation of the walls is variable: some have been seriously damaged by the roots of trees that have grown there for centuries; other parts remain intact at a height of over 1.5m. The walls are made of dolomite, split into small, irregular-shaped stones. They are 60-70cm thick, solid and strong despite the fact that they have been laid directly on to the uneven ground.

Small and large buildings

The smallest building in the village measures 9m2, the largest 41m2. Some of the buildings have internal areas with independent access. Their function has been established as a result of finding hearths, metal objects and the remains of food. The majority of the buildings were used as dwellings, confirmed by finds of everyday objects and the existence of hearths. Others were certainly shops or storehouses. Contrarily, there seem to be no buildings of particular significance or “halls of power”. The most important buildings in terms of size and position are the “tower” and the “church”, the latter being situated in the centre of the settlement and aligned from East to West.

Houses and furniture

The medieval houses of Tremona are small and rectangular in shape, with tiled roofs and dirt floors or small area of cobblestones. The small (and rare) windows had no glass, and were closed with wooden shutters, skins or waxed cloth. These rather unappealing spaces were probably filled with smoke, given that there were no chimneys. Water was brought from outside the village. Any furnishings would have been very simple: boards on trestle stands, benches and stools, chests closed with metal fastenings, wall hooks for hanging clothes or provisions. And, on the floor, one or more straw beds.

jeu. 27°C

LE VILLAGE

Les trois niveaux

Le site médiéval de Tremona-Château s'étendait sur trois niveaux. La route la plus ancienne à la sortie du château se dirigeait vers Meride et partait de la porte d'accès au nord-ouest du village, reliant Tremona à la vallée. L'état de conservation des murs est variable : certains sont gravement endommagés par les racines des arbres, après des siècles de croissance, d'autres conservent jusqu'à 1,50 m de hauteur. Les murs en brèche dolomitique sont réalisés à l'aide de petites pierres, brisées sans leur donner de forme définie. Leur épaisseur est d'environ 60-70 cm, elles sont solides et résistantes bien qu'elles soient posées directement sur le terrain irrégulier.

Petits et grands bâtiments

Le plus petit des édifices du village mesure environ 9 m2, et le plus grand en mesure 41. Certains d'entre eux présentent des espaces intérieurs avec accès indépendant. Leur fonction a été reconstruite grâce aux foyers, aux métaux et aux restes de nourriture retrouvés. La plus grande partie des structures faisait office d'habitation comme en attestent les objets de tous les jours ayant été retrouvés, ainsi que la présence de foyers. D'autres servaient certainement d'entrepôt. En revanche, il n'y a aucune trace de monuments ou de « sièges du pouvoir » à Tremona-Château. Les bâtiments les plus importants, en raison de leurs dimensions ou leur position, sont la « tour » et l'« église ». Cette dernière est située au milieu du village et est orientée de l'est vers l'ouest.

Les maisons et le mobilier

Les maisons médiévales de Tremona sont petites et à plan rectangulaire. Leur toit est composé de lauze, leur sol est en terre battue ou, pour quelques-uns, pavé. Les fenêtres, petites et rares, étaient dépourvues de vitres et étaient fermées par des planches en bois, des peaux de bête ou des toiles cirées. L'absence de cheminées suggère un environnement peu salubre et plein de fumée. L'eau provenait de l'extérieur du village. Le mobilier devait être très modeste : tables sur des tréteaux, bancs et tabourets, coffres fermés par des serrures métalliques, crochets aux murs pour suspendre les vêtements ou les provisions. Par terre, un ou plusieurs lits de fortune, en paille.