A window on history

Tremona, the site and its history

During the archaeological excavations, ARAM volunteers brought to light the ruins of the settlement of Tremona-Castello and thousands of artefacts which, from the Neolithic period through the Bronze Age and Iron Age to Roman times and the heyday of the Middle Ages.
The archaeological artefacts and the places where they were found have supported and sustained the work of researchers, who over time have been able to acquire information that helps determine the history of this place. Much has been discovered, much cannot be known.

To support curiosity and also to enhance the historical-scientific importance of the work carried out by the archaeologists who rediscovered this medieval village, the town of Mendrisio, in close collaboration with the president of ARAM Mr. Alfio Martinelli, commissioned Elena Percivaldi, a medievalist and journalist specialised in the field of historical divulgation, to recount the peculiarities of Tremona-Castello.

The author

Elena Percivaldi is a medieval historian and essay writer. A professional journalist since 2002, she collaborates with some of the most important mainstream magazines in the history section. As well as her many activities as a speaker in meetings, conferences and conventions throughout Italy and abroad, she is also a trustee of historical archaeological exhibitions and historical-re-enactments.

Une fenêtre sur l'histoire

Tremona, le site et son histoire

Au cours des fouilles archéologiques, les volontaires de ARAM ont remis au jour les ruines de la localité de Tremona-Castello et des milliers de témoignages qui, du néolithique, passent par l'âge du bronze et l'âge du fer pour atteindre la période romaine et le maximum d'épanouissement au Moyen-Âge.
Les découvertes et les lieux où elles ont été réalisées ont soutenu et alimentent le travail des chercheurs, qui ont ainsi pu acquérir au fil du temps des informations qui aident à déterminer l'histoire de ce lieu. Beaucoup a été découvert, beaucoup n'est pas possible de savoir.

Pour soutenir la curiosité et aussi pour valoriser l'importance historique et scientifique du travail effectué par les archéologues qui ont redécouvert ce village médiéval, la ville de Mendrisio, en étroite collaboration avec le président de l'ARAM M. Alfio Martinelli, a chargé Elena Percivaldi, médiéviste et journaliste spécialisée dans le domaine de la divulgation historique, de raconter les particularités de Tremona-Castello.

L'​autrice

Elena Percivaldi est historienne médiéviste et essayiste. Journaliste professionnelle depuis 2002, elle collabore avec plusieurs parmi les principales revues de haute divulgation dans le domaine historique. Outre son travail d’oratrice lors de rencontres, conférences et congrès, elle est également commissaire d’expositions historico-archéologiques et de manifestations de reconstitution historique sur les Lombards.